Wednesday, June 19, 2019 | Cloudy skies with moderate to occasionally heavy rains which may trigger flashfloods & landslides will be experienced over Ilocos region and the provinces of Batanes, Benguet, Zambales, Bataan & the islands of Babuyan.| Ship manning agencies challenge new SSS law provision for OFWs | Hong Kong gov't suspends divisive extradition bill | Canada to Secure Bigger Share | Jodi Sta. Maria’s Clarita earns P22M in four days | Four injured, three arrested in shooting | 1 USD = 52.14 PhP as of closing June 17, 2019|
TOP STORIES >> Sports News
Folayang to face former UFC champion Alvarez in ONE
Photo Gallery
Folayang to face former UFC champion Alvarez in ONE

MANILA, Philippines, June 11 ------ Filipino Eduard Folayang will face arguably the toughest test of his career as he tangles with American Eddie Alvarez, the former UFC lightweight king, in ONE Championship: Dawn of Heroes. Fighting for the first time since losing the ONE lightweight title to Shinya Aoki, Folayang will begin his trek back to glory against Alvarez, who is determined to redeem himself after a stunning knockout loss in his promotion debut. Another star who will be seeing action in the card that will be staged at the Mall of Asia Arena on August 2 is American Demetrious Johnson, the former UFC flyweight champion.

Johnson, considered one of the greatest pound-for-pound mixed martial artists of all time, will lock horns with Japanese Tatsumitsu Wada in the semifinals of the ONE flyweight grand prix. In the other pairing of the ONE flyweight grand prix semifinals, Filipino Danny Kingad will go up against Kazakh Kairat Akhmetov. Filipino Honorio Banario, meanwhile, has gained another crack at the world title as he'll step in for injured Lowen Tynanes to battle Russian Timofey Nastyukhin in the ONE lightweight grand prix semifinals. Headlining the card is British Jonathan Haggerty, who will defend his ONE flyweight Muay Thai belt against Thai Rodtang Jitmuangnon. Also fighting in the card are Reece McLaren vs Yuya Wakamatsu, Leandro Issa vs Daichi Takenaka, Ayaka Miura vs Samara Santos, and Neunglanlek Jitmuangnon vs Chris Shaw.